Posted by: J.V. | October 30, 2010

How a bunch of high school students won my heart

When I was young (in my 20s), I swore I would never be able to teach. I didn’t think I had it in me at all. Then I started teaching anthropology in cegep (a post-secondary learning institution unique to Quebec that provides either vocational training or pre-university programs) and realised that I did indeed have it in me. However, I still vowed that I would never teach in high school. I already found many of my incoming students, at 17, quite immature and difficult to deal with. I learned to enjoy working with them after a couple of years though but I still got shudders at the idea of dealing with anyone younger than that. I remembered my own high school years and all the brats that made it a passtime to make their teachers’ lives difficult. They would go as far as they could with the goal of making a teacher lose it. I figured one needed a very special kind of personality to be able to deal with that.

So it was with trepidation that I started to substitute at the school in Chisasibi. Now, at first, they put me in elementary classrooms (the school in Chisasibi has two wings: elementary and high school). After two days, I said no more. I really could not handle 4th and 5th graders. They were running around, not taking me seriously and I came close to losing it. At the same time, some of them were very affectionate – more than I was comfortable with. I’m not generally a touchy feely person and having children come up and put their arms around me made me extremely uncomfortable.

So I met with the high school principal and let them know that I would prefer to try the high school level. It turned out that the science teacher for secondary 3, 4 and 5 (grades 10, 11 and 12) took a sick leave and the substitute that had been there for the first few weeks wasn’t staying in town so I was put in his classes. Science! I hadn’t dealt with this stuff since my own cégep days when I was doing a diploma in Pure and Applied Science (back when I still wanted to become an astronomer). But I checked out the textbook and a lot of it came back to me. So I gave it a shot.

The students, far from being the wild and crazy zoo animals I had imagined all high school students to be, were respectful and welcoming. The first week was an adaptation for all of us: I was trying to find out what they had been doing so far this year and they were trying to figure out if I was going to stick around and stay with them. From both sides, there was an attempt to figure out what to make of the other. I started getting into it and I got positive responses. When I said that I would stay for as long as they needed me in there (ie: until the regular science teacher came back) and that, instead of just “babysitting” them like some substitutes had had a tendancy of doing, I would actually study the stuff and support them in their learning, I felt the energy in the room (in all groups) change. Suddenly, we were a team and we were working together toward a common goal: their success.

Since then, I’ve been building a rapport with them. I’ve been learning their names. I’m asking them to teach me stuff too, like their language and about local youth culture. In short, they won my heart.


Leave a Reply

Categories

